In praise of baby wipes. Well, sort of

One of the most common questions I’m asked in card-making demos is “what’s the best way to clean rubber stamps?”.  I wouldn’t say I have the best way, but I prefer to use purpose made stamp cleaner (the Papermania and Ranger ones with the felty applicator are my faves).  I rub it on, leave for a couple of minutes and rub gently with an old toothbrush.  For a quick clean of a newly inked stamps, I keep some baby wipes handy – they’re great if you just want to change to another colour.  I always get the alcohol free ones, as alcohol can damage rubber, making it brittle and powdery if left for a long time.  Whichever cleaner I use, I’m always very careful to rinse it off before I put the stamps away.  Unmounted stamps can be rinsed under the tap, but mounted ones can quickly become unmounted if the foam backing gets too wet, so I rinse these by dabbing with a wad of wet kitchen towel.

There are a few reasons I don’t choose to use baby wipes full time for cleaning my stamps.  The ‘proper’ stuff doesn’t contain anything bad for your stamps, and it’s wetter, so is best at shifting old dried-on ink – it’s often many hours (sometimes days!) before I get a chance to clean the stamps I’ve used in demos.  Also, when I use baby wipes to clean a lot of stamps at once, it makes my skin go very wrinkly and feel quite unpleasant.  Midwives don’t recommend that you use baby wipes on a young baby’s skin, but as a new Mum, I ended up with loads of free packs – far too many for the odd dab at an inky stamp!  As well as dissolving permanent ink, a friend once told me that baby wipes are great for cleaning light coloured handbags, so I decided to do a little experiment around the house to see what else I could use my wipe mountain for.  The results surprised and shocked me.  They cleaned my kitchen worktop and hob more easily than any kitchen cleaner, dealt with the greasy film on the cooker hood without scrubbing, removed previously indelible unidentified grubby marks on doors and made light work of spider poo on the windowsills.  I even managed to make a difference to the inside of the oven!  No dirt is safe in my house now, and the baby wipe is my new best friend.  Goodness knows what they’ve got in them to dissolve all those different substances but one thing is certain, they’re never going near my baby’s bum!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dawn Lancaster
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 17:55:01

    Lol! They’re good for spot stains on clothiing too!
    Hope you have fun doing your blog!
    Hugs
    Dawn xx

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Spring cleaning (!) – Blog prompt day 18 « mandmade

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,291 hits
