Favourite Photo (Blog Prompt Day 6)

Ooh, how exciting, I just checked the blog prompt for today, and it’s a quick and easy one for me, so I’m actually posting on the right day (well, almost!)! I might need a bit of a lie down 🙂

Today’s prompt is to post our favourite photo, and this is mine:

This is our beautiful collie/sheltie cross Molly in our garden the day after she came to live with us. She was nearly one year old and she’d had a very troubled start in life. At 8 weeks old, someone discarded her in a ditch in Tipperary in winter.  She survived because a kind passerby heard her crying and took her home before handing her in to the Tipp Off Animal Rescue.  They took care of her for a month before sending her to Heathlands Animal Sanctuary in Royston.  She was rehomed quickly, but the family split up a few months later, so she was passed around friends for a while before being sent back to Heathlands at just the right time for us to find her.

I love this picture for a few reasons.  She’s at her prettiest, and looks so bright eyed and happy – it really sums up her character for me. Less than 24 hours earlier she was shaking with nerves at being driven away from the seventh house she thought was going to be her home, but here she is looking like she’s ready for anything. When I look at this picture I see the huge change it represents for her and for us. It makes my heart ache for all the abandoned dogs out there for whom rescue will come too late, but it also makes me so happy we could help little Molly. I just hope we can always live up to the expectation in her face!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Avril Watson
    May 07, 2012 @ 07:04:36

    Molly is gorgous, I have had 4 rescue dogs in my life, all were very special to me, I now have my wee minature poodle, Jet, who keeps me such good company,

    Reply

  2. Annette
    May 07, 2012 @ 07:40:32

    Hi Amanda
    What a beauiful dog with very obviously a happy home
    Annette x

    Reply

  3. Donna Watson
    May 07, 2012 @ 10:47:46

    Shes lovely…..I have a 6mth old Tri-coloured Border Collie and love her to pieces. They are one of the most beautifulest dogs going. Great pic of her too…she looks like she wants to play and run around. :o)

    Reply

  4. chrisbitz
    May 16, 2012 @ 14:12:43

    Stories like these bring tears to my eyes! Especially when you see her so bright eyes and bushy tailed after all that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,291 hits
