Bank Holiday Memories – Blog Prompt Catch-up, Day 7

Two posts in one day!?! I’m feeling a little faint…

The bank holiday prompt was to share childhood memories of bank holidays, and talk about any traditions then and now.

I’m an only child, and we always did everything as a family when I was little, so I’d struggle to separate my memories of early May and August bank holiday activities from those of regular weekends.  I grew up near the coast in Essex, so we would sometimes go to the seaside at Clacton or Walton with Nanna and Grandad (we didn’t have a car), and weekends always included a walk or cycle ride in the countryside.  Dad has grown his own veg for ever too, and I loved ‘helping’ him in the garden.  I always had my own few square feet of veg patch, and this is something I’m very keen to do with little Bob.

The late May bank holiday is a different matter though, as it was the weekend when the US Air Force put on one of the best air shows of the year, at RAF Mildenhall in Suffolk.  It was a highlight of our family’s year until the War on Terror put a stop to the shows in 2003.  I just did a quick Google to remind myself when the last show was and got a wonderful surprise – they’re thinking of bringing the shows back next year!  If so, then that’ll be another tradition we can pass on to Bob 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne Banks
    May 10, 2012 @ 08:09:15

    Thank you so much for sharing your photograph and story, it is lovely to have such wonderful memories.

    Love and hugs

    Annie xxx

    Reply

  2. emmacollinspr
    May 10, 2012 @ 09:03:03

    Oh fantastic!!! I love that you can continue a family tradition with your gorgeous baby boy!

    Reply

  3. Debbi
    May 10, 2012 @ 09:18:57

    What lovely memories! I hope you manage to carry them on with your son xxx

    Reply

  4. Fran
    May 10, 2012 @ 10:59:23

    Sounds like you had great bank holiday’s xx

    Reply

  5. Sally Smith
    May 15, 2012 @ 19:25:20

    awww i remember this garden, and you look so cute too! i remember your Mum and Dad taking us to Mildenhall, we got the red arrows autographs, i remember it fondly e always had such a great time with your parents, please give them my love xxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,291 hits
