My Guilty Pleasures – Blog Prompt, Day 15

Tuesday’s topic was guilty pleasures, which is quite an easy one for me, as I only have a couple.  Don’t get me wrong, I have plenty of pleasures, I just talk myself out of feeling guilty about them 🙂  I have weaknesses for chocolate, cheese, and ice cream, but I also walk a lot and eat a healthy diet the rest of the time, so I don’t think they quite make it up there to guilt.  Closer is my compulsion for playing web games like Bubble Witch Saga and DrawSomething even though I know there are more productive or instructive things I should be doing when Bob is asleep on my lap.  Again though, I reason that a bit of what you fancy is a good thing, and that maybe it’s even good to be non-productive some of the time.

So what do I feel guilty about?  Well, my collector attitude to craft supplies is the main one.  In as much as anyone needs any craft supplies, I have a lot more than I need, and more than I’ll be able to use in one lifetime, unless all that walking and healthy eating makes me live to 250!  The environmentalist in me feels guilty about having so much, but my main source of guilt is that I have more than I have room for in my little craft room, so it’s invaded most of the rest of the house in one way or another.  Despite this, I still buy more of it, and that’s what makes me feel bad.  It’s just that I enjoy owning it almost as much as crafting with it, and I enjoy the possibilities of what I could make with it almost as much as the making.  In fact, when the making is going to involve lots of measuring and not much technique, sometimes the design process is the most fun!

My only other guilty pleasure is biscuits when I’m out.  They went from being a pleasure to a guilty pleasure when I saw a Panorama about palm oil (an ingredient in all sorts of processed foods), and how our use of it is putting the orangutans at risk of extinction within the next decade.  At home I’ve switched to all butter shortbread, as I reason that the orangutans need trees more than I need chocolate digestives, but I do still eat biscuits of unknown oiliness when I’m out – something I feel bad about almost immediately 😦  Hmm, maybe they don’t count as a pleasure after all…

That’s a bit of a serious way to leave this post, so please help lighten things up by leaving me a comment about your guilty pleasures!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ger
    May 16, 2012 @ 15:04:07

    Great post hun 😀 Ger x

    Reply

  2. Janna gay
    May 16, 2012 @ 17:42:48

    You have hit the nail on the head. It is the pleasure of owning stuff and the possibilities. And when I buy stuff I am quite sure I am going to use it ! But often it gets forgotten. I had a wake up call when I proudly showed a non crafting friend my attic . She was shocked with how much stuff I have! Not the reaction I usually get! Quite a wake up call really .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,290 hits
