Spring cleaning (!) – Blog prompt day 18

On Friday, Emma wanted us to confess our spring cleaning secrets, so here goes.

I’m not a great fan of any housework, with the exception of getting a huge pile of fresh laundry in from the line on a bright and breezy day and burying my face in it 🙂  Cleaning in particular just depresses me while I’m doing it – I know the bit I just did is already gathering dust, and that I’ll never have finished.  Spring cleaning is different though, as it’s well defined.  I find it hugely satisfying to tackle all the jobs that have nagged at me for ages and to get absorbed in detail of it, before shutting the door on a ‘perfect’ room.  It’s just a shame you always end up with a shoe box of weird things that don’t really belong anywhere…

Emma also wanted to know about favourite cleaners and adverts.  Well, I watch very little telly, and what I do watch is recorded, so I fast forward over the adverts.  I can’t think of any recent cleaner ads at all!  As for favourite cleaners, I love Orange Glo wood polish – it eats through all the old polish layers and leaves a gorgeous orangey smell that fills the room. As I mentioned in one of my first posts on this blog, I’m also a big fan of baby wipes for all sorts of cleaning jobs. My other favourite cleaner is white vinegar – I’ve used it with newspaper to clean windows since reading “How clean is your house”, from the Channel 4 show. What I don’t have (and unfortunately need) is a way of getting dried water-based paint out of a carpet (I didn’t notice the tin had dribbled 😦 ) If you know how to fix this, please take pity and leave me a comment – I like carpet shopping even less than cleaning!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sally Smith
    May 26, 2012 @ 18:58:14

    i also love orange glo Amanda, as for the paint…..have you tried baby wipes?? i use pampers ones as i find them the best. i had a tin of paint that also dribbled and i always use the wipes when painting as they always get it off my skin !! so i thought, well if it’s good enough for my skin it ought to work on the carpet. don’t get me wrong you do have to scrub but it worked for me xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,290 hits
