Happy day, happy card – Blog post 17

Born to Shop new home card

Born to Shop new home card

Day 17’s blog prompt challenge was to create a cheerful card and dedicate it to someone.  Here’s the card I made, using papers and an embossing folder from the Born to Shop ‘Go Green’ collection.  Not only is it a cheerful card, but it’s about happiness, so I hope it counts 🙂  I made it as a new home card for some friends who have just bought their first home together, as I thought it was a nice way to wish that their new house is always filled with laughter.

I really like making backgrounds like this, with several coordinating papers, and it’s a good way to use up off-cuts.  It’s a technique that I think looks good with everything lined up neatly, or with a more fun layout like this.

For the main image I’ve embossed the design onto Core’dinations Whitewash cardstock and sanded it.  I applied some light colour to bring out the design and picked out the writing with a fine pen.  The frame is cut freehand.  I hope you like it!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikki
    May 27, 2012 @ 14:04:51

    I love this card, what a great way to use up your scraps of paper as well!
    White wash is a fav of mine as well. x

    Reply

  2. craftymonster81
    May 27, 2012 @ 15:20:49

    Really gorgeous card, I love the image and the patchwork effect background is fantastic
    Lindsay xx
    http://craftymonster81.blogspot.co.uk/

    Reply

  3. Chris
    May 27, 2012 @ 18:20:37

    Beautiful card, love the image. Chris xx

    Reply

  4. Abbie
    May 27, 2012 @ 20:56:20

    lovely card and soft color, love the image xx

    Reply

  5. Danie May
    May 28, 2012 @ 04:39:55

    I love how different this is to the norm, the clear embossing and picking out of the color is fabulous and I love the patchwork background. xx

    Reply

  6. mand44
    May 28, 2012 @ 09:56:01

    Thank you so much for the lovely comments. I was really glad I could get something made before they forgot that they were in a new house 😉

    Reply

  7. Vee Cassidy
    May 28, 2012 @ 10:55:37

    beautiful card they will frame this and keep it forever. Vee xx

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Popularity – Blog prompt catch up, Day 28 « mandmade

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,290 hits
